21st Judicial District

21st Judicial District

135 4th Avenue South, Franklin 37064, Tennessee


Map Location

Map Directions
Legal and Law Enforcement
General info
Tennessee’s trial courts include Chancery, Criminal, Circuit, and Probate Courts. Currently, there are 152 trial and 2 probate judges within 31 judicial districts in Tennessee. Hickman County is in the 21st Judicial District along with Williamson, Lewis, and Perry Counties.

In the 21st Judicial District, there are only Chancery and Circuit Courts. Probate matters are filed in Chancery Court and criminal matters are filed in Circuit Court. The judges of the 21st Judicial District are all designated Circuit Judges. They sit as Chancellor when holding Chancery Court. There are now four divisions of the Circuit Court with a separate judge for each division.

Judge Joseph A. Woodruff sits in Division I; Judge James G. Martin, III, Division II; Judge Mike  Binkley  in Division III and Judge Deanna B. Johnson  in Division IV. All criminal cases are divided into Part 1 and Part 2. All civil cases, both Circuit and Chancery, are also divided into Part 1 and Part 2. Each judge is assigned to one of the parts, either criminal Part 1 or 2 or civil Part 1 or 2.

Note:Effective 1-1-16, assignments are Judge Michael W. Binkley - Civil Part 2; Judge Deanna B. Johnson - Civil Part 1; Judge James G. Martin, III - Criminal Part 2; Judge Joseph A. Woodruff - Criminal Part 1

 The judges maintain offices in the Williamson County Judicial Center 135 Fourth Ave South in Franklin. The office is staffed by four administrative assistants, Stacy Green, Karen Card , Deborah Rubenstein & Cathy Barton. The office hours are 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.


  • Position:
  • Circuit Judge
  • For announcements on this website, see the  events calendar . Important county meetings generally require public notices to be displayed in advance. Most meetings are announced in the Hickman County Times, the local newspaper. Some announcements may be announced in social media

  • Search for your property. If you see a shopping cart, click on it to pay the taxes due. (Note: there is a 2.75% processing fee. (Click to expand to full page.)
  • Property Assessor's WebsiteUse the Property Assessor's website to find maps of your property or other properties and to interact with the Property Assessor's office.

  • Property deeds, Wills, .... and other documents must be registered in the Register's office for a small fee. You will need to bring the following documents:

    • Deeds
    • Quit Claims
    • ....
  • If you are looking for a site to locate a new business or industry, the Industrial Development Boards and Vision Hickman, the  Hickman County Economic and Community Development Association , may be able to help.  

    The Executive Director of Vision

  • County Districts of Hickman County

    There are seven districts in Hickman County, Tennessee, represented by 21 county commissioners--three from each district elected by the voters of Hickman County. The commissioners meet throughout the month in committees deliberating on issues to bring before the main body

Download Documents

Get instant updates via email

FeedBurner Subscription