South Central Development District

The South Central Tennessee Development District (SCTDD) helps local governments in

  • Researching, obtaining, and administering federal and private funding
  • Promoting and enhancing the quality of life in South Central Tennessee
  • Developing jobs
  • Upgrading the labor force
  • Raising the per capita income of the region's citizens
  • Attracting and retaining industry and furthering economic growth
  • Enabling better transportation systems and infrastructure
  • Serving as a clearinghouse for member governments with information concerning federal, state, and local services
  • Identifying the needs and advocating services for the elderly population of the region
  • Improving relationships between all branches of government.

SCTDD is an association of 35 municipal and 13 county governments in southern middle Tennessee organized to advocate and promote economic and community development within the region. It is governed by a 53-member Board of Directors which delegates authority and policy-making on a day-to-day basis to a twenty-four member Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is comprised of thirteen county mayors, six municipal mayors, one state senator, one state representative, and three minority representatives.